Ambling Along
the Aqueduct

The Cascadia
Subduction Zone

The Monthly Aqueduct

Subscribe to our
monthly e-newsletter

Spring-Summer 2019

Our Mission



Aqueduct Press
PO Box 95787
Seattle, WA 98145-2787
Previous Book Next Book

Conversation Pieces

Vol. 69 — The Rampant: A Novella

by Julie C. Day

$ $10.00 (paperback)  

It’s ten years since the hordes of old-world Sumerian gods arrived in Southern Indiana to kick off the end of the world, but things have not gone to plan. A principal player decided not to show. Now humanity is stuck in a seemingly never-ending apocalypse. Sixteen-year-old Emelia Bareilles and Gillian Halkey are determined to force a change, even though it means traveling into the lands of the dead.

Advance Praise

“I loved the epic journey of our two teenaged lesbian he¬roes, Gillian and Emelia, through the sprawling horrors of the Sumerian afterworld. The clash of their modern feminist sensibilities with the cruel and rigid theocracy of the very oldest gods out-weirds much of the New Weird. In The Rampant, Julie Day calls us to visit a fantastical landscape in a voice that is hers alone.”
 — James Patrick Kelly, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Locus awards

The Rampant was so much fun to read! Is that the right way to blurb a horror novel? I don’t know, but it’s the truth. Julie Day’s novel is smart, playful, sly and, yes, hor¬rifying too. A short gem of a book.”
 —Victor LaValle, author of The Changeling

“The girl-powered post-apocalyptic Sumerian under¬world quest I didn’t know I needed.”
 — Sarah Pinsker, winner of the Nebula and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

The Rampant is one of the most original Apocalypse tales I’ve read in ages. Julie C. Day avoids cliché and gives the reader the end-times by way of Sumerian myth—except this particular end-of-the-world stalls when one of its principal players decides not to show up. What unfolds is a journey into the underworld filled with joy and hor¬ror, hope and loss. It’s a wise and lovely story—exactly what I’ve come to expect from Day.”
 —Nathan Ballingrud, winner of the Shirley Jackson Award; shortlisted for the World Fantasy, British Fantasy, and Bram Stoker Awards.
ISBN: 978-1-61976-169-8 (13 digit)
Publication Date: 2019
paperback pages